May 17, 2013

Minutes of the JLD Annual Meeting American Translators Association, 53rd Annual Conference

Minutes of the JLD Annual Meeting
American Translators Association, 53rd Annual Conference

Date:               October 25, 2012, 11:00 – 12:00
Venue:             Hilton San Diego Bayfront, San Diego, California

1.         Welcoming First Time Attendees

a)   The first time attendees were introduced and welcomed.

2.   Meeting Minutes from 2011

a)   It was reported that the minutes of the JLD annual meeting from 2011 are posted on the JLD website.

3.         Review of JLD Related Events throughout the Conference

a)   The planned JLD events including the scheduled sessions were reviewed for the participants’ convenience.

4.         Selection of the 2013 – 1014 JLD Officer Nominating Committee Members

a)   The following nominating committee members were selected:
                  Jon Johanning
                  Daniel MacLeith
                  Richard Mott

5.         JLD Times

a)   There was not much activity associated with the JLD Times in 2011. The only content posted was the summaries of the presentations from the 2010 Annual Conference and an advertisement for a meeting in Vancouver.

b)   The officers proposed that we needed a chief editor to run the JLD Times independently from other activities in which the officers are involved. A volunteer was solicited. (Later, Tracy Miller volunteered and she is now the Chief Editor.)

6.         2012 Conference Committee Efforts/Update

a)   The members’ efforts for organizing the presentations for the 2012 Annual Conference were recognized. The members were:
                        Elizabeth Bender                     Patricia Bowden
Amanda Katsurada                 Hiroki Fukuyama
                        Yoko Goodman                       Chisato Ichikawa
                        Daniel MacLeith                     Jonathan Merz
                        Tracy Miller                           Richard Mott
                        Kyoko Niwa                           James Patrick
Carl Sullivan                            Masae Sullivan                       
                        Hiroyuki Tsuchiya

b)   The JLD had seven sessions including the JLD annual meeting in 2012 as opposed to the usual 12. This is due to the fact that the ATA headquarters received an overwhelming number of proposals for 2012, and to the limited number of the conference rooms available at the venue. However, two sessions under the Science and Technology Division presented by a designated distinguish speaker, Dr. Robert Lyon from P&G (Basic Concepts of Pharmacology in Drug Development; Drugs of Abuse – a Pharmacological Perspective) were also arranged by the JLD. In effect, nine sessions were allocated to the JLD despite the competitive circumstance.

4.         2013 ATA Annual Conference Programs

a)   Many ideas were proposed by the members present at this meeting. Later, these ideas were carefully considered by the new committee members.

b)   The committee members for the programs for the 2013 Conference were selected:
                  Richard Bennett                      Nadine Edwards
                  Hiroki Fukuyama                    Morgan McDonald
                  Tracy Miller                           Kyoko Niwa
                  James Patrick                          Masae Sullivan
                  Gail Tanaka-Burns                  Shinichiro Tanaka

No comments:

Post a Comment